Friday Psalm: Declaring the Glory of God

Friday mornings are tough. It’s the day after class, the end of the week, and I’m usually faced with the prospect of a late night covering high school football. So usually I’m tired, and I don’t really feel like blogging.

Therefore, I’m going to try out my first semipermanent feature for all seven of you out there reading this: the Friday psalm.

One of our class requirements is a psalm prayer journal, in which we write about a psalm, assigned by the professor, every day for a week. With me doing my journal in the mornings and class on Thursday afternoons, that means Friday morning is the debut of a new psalm for the next week. Why not share it with you? Perhaps you’ll get something out of it, too.

This week’s psalm is Psalm 19.

I won’t post the whole thing (you can click the link above), but here is an excerpt I like:

1 The heavens declare the glory of God;
the skies proclaim the work of his hands.
2 Day after day they pour forth speech;
night after night they reveal knowledge.
3 They have no speech, they use no words;
no sound is heard from them.
4 Yet their voice goes out into all the earth,
their words to the ends of the world. 
In the heavens God has pitched a tent for the sun.
5 It is like a bridegroom coming out of his chamber,
like a champion rejoicing to run his course.
6 It rises at one end of the heavens
and makes its circuit to the other;
nothing is deprived of its warmth.

The description in Verse 5 of the sun’s gladness to start the day is something I’d never noticed before. I love the wordplay there, a “champion rejoicing to run his course.”

I also love the opening of the psalm, a more familiar passage, and one I’ve been considering thanks to the BioLogos blog, Science and the Sacred. In a post about the Great Flood, geology professor Dr. Gregg Davidson, noting not only the lack of evidence for such an event but the significant evidence contradicting its possibility, says the only way for the Flood to have occurred would be if God essentially falsified the evidence to make it look like it hadn’t. Which doesn’t make sense at all; why would God try to hide a flood he made sure was recorded in Genesis?

It’s similar to the argument that God created the earth 6,000 years ago, but he made it look old. That he must have created the stars with their light already most of the way to the earth, despite their being billions of light-years away.

Which would put the lie to Psalm 19:1, wouldn’t it? The heavens would be declaring a falsehood. They wouldn’t be displaying knowledge; they’d be displaying an illusion.

Many Christians, quoting the Bible, like to say God has imprinted his stamp on creation, and I believe that to be true. But as that stamp is studied by the scientists called to do so, I think we do God a disservice if we refuse to read what he’s written there.

2 comments on “Friday Psalm: Declaring the Glory of God

  1. JOHNSMITH says:

    Yes, but how does this fit with the latter half of the Psalm? The two pieces are not disconnected.

    • Paul says:

      I agree, but I wasn’t intending to provide an exegesis of the whole psalm, just to discuss some verses I really enjoyed and what they meant for me. By all means, though, feel free to provide your own take on the psalm here.

      Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

